Ryder Cup

The Ryder Cup is one of the most prestigious tournaments in Golf, with the top players from Europe and the US facing off every two years.

I have put together the below guide so you can find out more about the dates, format, schedule, players, and tickets for the 2023 tournament in Italy.

Ryder Cup

Ryder Cup 2023

Location:Rome, Italy
Course:Marco Simone Golf & Country Club
Captains:Luke Donald and Zach Johnson
Dates:27 Sep – 1 Oct 2023


The 44th edition of the Ryder Cup was held at the Marco Simone Golf & Country Club in Rome, Italy from the 27th of September to the 1st of October 2023, with the 2023 tournament being held in the same week as the Ladies Open De France.


The 27th and 28th of September (Wednesday and Thursday) were practice days, with the competition itself starting on Friday, the 29th of September 2023, and running until Sunday, the 1st of October 2023.

27th of September 2023 Wednesday – Day 1Practice Day
28th of September 2023Thursday – Day 2Practice Day
29th of September 2023Friday – Day 34 foursomes and 4 fourballs
30th of September 2023Saturday – Day 44 foursomes and 4 fourballs
1st of October 2023Sunday – Day 512 Singles


General admission tickets for the 2023 Ryder Cup were quickly sold out, so if you wanted to attend the event in 2023, you had to purchase one of the premium hospitality packages.


Each team had 12 players, with six of the players qualifying based on their ranking and six players being selected by the captains (Luke Donald and Zach Johnson).

Below is the full player list for Team Europe and Team USA for 2023.

Team Europe

  • Jon Rahm (Q)
  • Justin Rose (CP)
  • Ludvig Aberg (CP)
  • Matt Fitzpatrick (Q)
  • Nicolai Hojgaard (CP)
  • Robert MacIntyre (Q)
  • Rory McIlroy (Q)
  • Sepp Straka (CP)
  • Shane Lowry (CP)
  • Tommy Fleetwood (CP)
  • Tyrrell Hatton (Q)
  • Viktor Hovland (Q)

Team USA

  • Brian Harman (Q)
  • Brooks Koepka (CP)
  • Collin Morikawa (CP)
  • Jordan Spieth (CP)
  • Justin Thomas (CP)
  • Max Homa (Q) 
  • Patrick Cantlay (Q)
  • Rickie Fowler (CP)
  • Sam Burns (CP)
  • Scottie Scheffler (Q)
  • Wyndham Clark (Q)
  • Xander Schauffele (Q) 

CP: Captain’s Pick – Q: Qualified based on ranking

Team Captains

Zach Johnson and Luke Donald* will be the captains for the 2023 Ryder Cup.

YearAmerican CaptainsEuropean Captains
2023Zach JohnsonLuke Donald
2021Steve StrickerPádraig Harrington
2018Jim FurykThomas Bjørn
2016Davis Love IIIDarren Clarke
2014Tom WatsonPaul McGinley
2012Davis Love IIIJosé Olazábal
2010Corey PavinColin Montgomerie
2008Paul AzingerNick Faldo
2006Tom LehmanIan Woosnam
2004Hal SuttonBernhard Langer
2002Curtis StrangeSam Torrance
1999Ben CrenshawMark James
1997Tom KiteSeve Ballesteros
1995Lanny WadkinsBernard Gallacher
1993Tom WatsonBernard Gallacher
1991Dave StocktonBernard Gallacher
1989Raymond FloydTony Jacklin
1987Jack NicklausTony Jacklin
1985Lee TrevinoTony Jacklin
1983Jack NicklausTony Jacklin
1981Dave MarrJohn Jacobs
1979Billy CasperJohn Jacobs

*Luke Donald replaced Henrik Stenson as the 2023 European captain in August 2022, after Stenson signed up for the LIV Golf tour.

Past Winners – 1979 to 2023

The Ryder Cup in its current format has been held since 1979, with Team Europe winning 12 times and Team USA winning 9 times.

The current champions are Europe, who won the 2023 tournament, with a winning score of 16.5 pts to 11.5 pts.

YearWinnerHost CountryCourseWinning Score
2023EuropeItalyMarco Simone16.5-11.5
2021United StatesUSWhistling Straits19-9
2018EuropeFranceLe Golf National17.5-10.5
2016United StatesUSHazeltine National Golf Club17-11
2012EuropeUSMedinah Country Club14.5-13.5
2010EuropeWalesCeltic Manor Resort14.5-13.5
2008United StatesUSValhalla Golf Club16.5-11.5
2006EuropeIrelandK Club18.5-9.5
2004EuropeUSOakland Hills Country Club18.5-9.5
2002EuropeEnglandThe Belfry15.5-12.5
1999United StatesUSThe Country Club14.5-13.5
1997EuropeSpainValderrama Golf Club14.5-13.5
1995EuropeUSOak Hill Country Club14.5-13.5
1993United StatesEnglandThe Belfry15-13
1991United StatesUSKiawah Island Golf Resort14.5-13.5
1989EuropeEnglandThe Belfry14-14
1987EuropeUSMuirfield Village15-13
1985EuropeEnglandThe Belfry16.5-11.5
1983United StatesUSPGA National Golf Club14.5-13.5
1981United StatesEnglandWalton Heath Golf Club18.5-9.5
1979United StatesUSThe Greenbrier17-11