John Deere Classic Past Winners

The John Deere Classic golf tournament has been held annually since 1971, with past winners including the likes of Vijay Singh (2003), Bryson DeChambeau (2017), Jordan Spieth (2013 and 2015), and Steve Stricker (2009, 2010, and 2011).

The tournament has been known as The John Deere Classic since 1999, having previously been named the Quad Cities Open (1971 – 1985), Hardee’s Golf Classic (1986 – 1994), and the Quad City Classic (1995 – 1998).

John Deere Classic Past Winners

Past Winners

The current champion is Sepp Straka who won the 2023 title with a score of 21 under par (see highlights from the final round below).

John Deere Classic (1999 – 2023)

YearWinnerWinning ScoreWinning Margin
2023Sepp Straka−212 strokes
2022James Tyree Poston−213 strokes
2021Lucas Glover−192 strokes
2019Dylan Frittelli−212 strokes
2018Michael Kim−278 strokes
2017Bryson DeChambeau−181 stroke
2016Ryan Moore−222 strokes
2015Jordan Spieth−20Playoff
2014Brian Harman−221 stroke
2013Jordan Spieth−19Playoff
2012Zach Johnson−20Playoff
2011Steve Stricker−221 stroke
2010Steve Stricker−262 strokes
2009Steve Stricker−203 strokes
2008Kenny Perry−16Playoff
2007Jonathan Byrd−181 stroke
2006John Senden−191 stroke
2005Sean O’Hair−161 stroke
2004Mark Hensby−16Playoff
2003Vijay Singh−164 strokes
2002John Patrick Hayes−224 strokes
2001David Gossett−191 stroke
2000Michael Clark II−19Playoff
1999John Lee Lewis−19Playoff

Quad City Classic (1995 – 1998)

YearWinnerWinning ScoreWinning Margin
1998Steve Jones−171 stroke
1997David Toms−153 strokes
1996Ed Fiori−122 strokes
1995Donald Albert Weibring−131 stroke

Hardee’s Golf Classic (1986 – 1994)

YearWinnerWinning ScoreWinning Margin
1994Mark McCumber−151 stroke
1993David Frost−217 strokes
1992David Frost−143 strokes
1991Donald Albert Weibring−131 stroke
1990Joey Sindelar−12Playoff
1989Curt Byrum−121 stroke
1988Blaine McCallister−193 strokes
1987Kenny Knox−151 stroke
1986Mark Wiebe−121 stroke

Quad Cities Open (1971 – 1985)

YearWinnerWinning ScoreWinning Margin
1985Dan Forsman−131 stroke
1984Scott Hoch−145 strokes
1983Danny Edwards−14Playoff
1982Payne Stewart−122 strokes
1981Dave Barr−10Playoff
1980Scott Hoch−143 strokes
1979DA Weibring−142 strokes
1978Victor Regalado−151 stroke
1977Mike Morley−171 stroke
1976John Lister−162 strokes
1975Roger Maltbie−91 stroke
1974Dave Stockton−131 stroke
1973Sam Adams−163 strokes
1972Deane Beman−51 stroke
1971Deane Beman−72 strokes

Multiple Winners

Six different golfers (see below) have won the event more than once, with Donald Albert Weibring and Steve Stricker winning the event three times each.

RankPlayerTitlesYears Won
T1Donald Albert Weibring31979, 1991, and 1995
T1Steve Stricker32009, 2010, and 2011
T3Jordan Spieth22013 and 2015
T3David Frost21992 and 1993
T3Scott Hoch21980 and 1984
T3Deane Beman21971 and 1972

Winners by Country

Americans have so far dominated the event, with 42 champions coming from the US.

The first non-American to win the event was John Lister of New Zealand in 1976, with the most recent being Sepp Straka of Austria in 2023.

RankCountryNumber of Wins
2South Africa3
T4New Zealand1