British Open Winners

Since 1960, there has been a total of 46 winners of the British Open championships, with the most recent winner being Brian Harman who won the 2023 Open at the Royal Liverpool Golf Course, with a score of 13 under par.

Below is a full list of British Open winners from 1960 to 2023, along with information on what golf course the Open was held on and the champion’s winning score.

British Open Winners Since 1960

British Open Winners Since 1960

2023Brian HarmanRoyal Liverpool−13
2022Cameron SmithSt Andrews−20
2021Collin MorikawaRoyal St George’s−15
2019Shane LowryPortrush−15
2018Francesco MolinariCarnoustie−8
2017Jordan SpiethBirkdale−12
2016Henrik StensonTroon−20
2015Zach JohnsonSt Andrews−15
2014Rory McIlroyRoyal Liverpool−17
2013Phil MickelsonMuirfield−3
2012Ernie ElsLytham & St Annes−7
2011Darren ClarkeRoyal St George’s−5
2010Louis OosthuizenSt Andrews−16
2009Stewart CinkTurnberry−2
2008Pádraig HarringtonBirkdale+3
2007Pádraig HarringtonCarnoustie−7
2006Tiger WoodsRoyal Liverpool−18
2005Tiger WoodsSt Andrews−14
2004Todd HamiltonTroon−10
2003Ben CurtisRoyal St George’s−1
2002Ernie ElsMuirfield−6
2001David DuvalLytham & St Annes−10
2000Tiger WoodsSt Andrews−19
1999Paul LawrieCarnoustie+6
1998Mark O’MearaBirkdaleEvens
1997Justin LeonardTroon−12
1996Tom LehmanLytham & St Annes−13
1995John DalySt Andrews−6
1994Nick PriceTurnberry−12
1993Greg NormanRoyal St George’s−13
1992Nick FaldoMuirfield−12
1991Ian Baker-FinchBirkdale−8
1990Nick FaldoSt Andrews−18
1989Mark CalcavecchiaTroon−13
1988Seve BallesterosLytham & St Annes−11
1987Nick FaldoMuirfield−5
1986Greg NormanTurnberryEvens
1985Sandy LyleRoyal St George’s+2
1984Seve BallesterosSt Andrews−12
1983Tom WatsonBirkdale−9
1982Tom WatsonTroon−4
1981Bill RogersRoyal St George’s−4
1980Tom WatsonMuirfield−13
1979Seve BallesterosLytham & St Annes−1
1978Jack NicklausSt Andrews−7
1977Tom WatsonTurnberry−12
1976Johnny MillerBirkdale−9
1975Tom WatsonCarnoustie−9
1974Gary PlayerLytham & St Annes−2
1973Tom WeiskopfTroon−12
1972Lee TrevinoMuirfield−6
1971Lee TrevinoBirkdale−14
1970Jack NicklausSt Andrews−5
1969Tony JacklinLytham & St Annes−4
1968Gary PlayerCarnoustie+1
1967Roberto De VicenzoRoyal Liverpool−10
1966Jack NicklausMuirfield−2
1965Peter ThomsonBirkdale−7
1964Tony LemaSt Andrews−9
1963Bob CharlesLytham & St Annes−7
1962Arnold PalmerTroon−12
1961Arnold PalmerBirkdale−4
1960Kel NagleSt Andrews−10

Multiple Winners of The Open since 1960

Since 1960, eleven different players have won The Open more than once, with Tom Watson winning five Opens during this period (1975, 1977, 1980, 1982, 1983).

More recent multiple winners include Tiger Woods (2000, 2005, and 2006), Padraig Harrington (2007 and 2008), and Ernie Els (2002 and 2012).

Tom Watson5
Jack Nicklaus3
Nick Faldo3
Seve Ballesteros3
Tiger Woods3
Arnold Palmer2
Ernie Els2
Gary Player2
Greg Norman2
Lee Trevino2
Padraig Harrington2


Who was the last American golfer to win the Open?

The last American to win the Open was Brian Harman, who won the 2023 Open Championships with a score of 13 under par.

Who was the last British golfer to win the Open?

Rory McIlroy won the 2014 Open Championships with a score of 17 under par.