Travelers Championship Past Winners

The Travelers Championship has a long history in golf with the first tournament being played in 1952, with its current home being the TPC River Highlands course in Cromwell, Connecticut.

The tournament has been known as The Travelers Championship since 2007, having previously been named the Buick Championship (2004 – 2006), Greater Hartford Open (1967 – 2003), and the Insurance City Open (1952 – 1966).

This article will look at some of the past winners of the event from 1952 to 2023, like Arnold Palmer, Greg Norman, Bubba Watson, and Dustin Johnson.

Travelers Championship Past Winners

Past Winners

The most recent winner of the Travelers Championship was Keegan Bradley who won the 2023 tournament with a score of 23 under par, three strokes ahead of Zac Blair and Brian Harman (-20).

The Travelers Championship (2007 – 2023)

YearWinnerWinning ScoreWinning Margin
2023Keegan Bradley−233 strokes
2022Xander Schauffele−192 strokes
2021Harris English−13Playoff
2020Dustin Johnson−191 stroke
2019Chez Reavie−174 strokes
2018Bubba Watson −173 strokes
2017Jordan Spieth−12Playoff
2016Russell Knox−141 stroke
2015Bubba Watson −16Playoff
2014Kevin Streelman−151 stroke
2013Ken Duke−12Playoff
2012Marc Leishman−141 stroke
2011Freddie Jacobson−201 stroke
2010Bubba Watson−14Playoff
2009Kenny Perry−223 strokes
2008Stewart Cink −181 stroke
2007Hunter Mahan−15Playoff

Buick Championship (2004 – 2006)

YearWinnerWinning ScoreWinning Margin
2006Ronald (J.J) Henry−143 strokes
2005Brad Faxon−14Playoff
2004Woody Austin−10Playoff

Greater Hartford Open (1967 – 2003)

YearWinnerWinning ScoreWinning Margin
2003Peter Jacobsen −142 strokes
2002Phil Mickelson −141 stroke
2001Phil Mickelson−161 stroke
2000Notah Begay III−201 stroke
1999Brent Geiberger−183 strokes
1998Olin Browne−14Playoff
1997Stewart Cink−131 stroke
1996Donald Albert Weibring−104 strokes
1995Greg Norman−132 strokes
1994David Frost−121 stroke
1993Nick Price−91 stroke
1992Lanny Wadkins−62 strokes
1991Billy Ray Brown−9Playoff
1990Wayne Levi−132 strokes
1989Paul Azinger −171 stroke
1988Mark Brooks−15Playoff
1987Paul Azinger−151 stroke
1986Mac O’Grady−15Playoff
1985Phil Blackmar−13Playoff
1984Peter Jacobsen−152 strokes
1983Curtis Strange−161 stroke
1982Tim Norris−256 strokes
1981Hubert Green−201 stroke
1980Howard Twitty−18Playoff
1979Jerry McGee−171 stroke
1978Rod Funseth−204 strokes
1977Billy Kratzert−193 strokes
1976Rik Massengale−182 strokes
1975Don Bies−17Playoff
1974Dave Stockton−164 strokes
1973Billy Casper −201 stroke
1972Lee Trevino−15Playoff
1971George Archer−16Playoff
1970Bob Murphy−174 strokes
1969Bob Lunn−16Playoff
1968Billy Casper −183 strokes
1967Charlie Sifford−121 stroke

Insurance City Open (1952 – 1966)

YearWinnerWinning Score
1966Art Wall Jr.−18
1965Billy Casper −10
1964Ken Venturi−11
1963Billy Casper−13
1962Bob Goalby−13
1961Billy Maxwell−13
1960Arnold Palmer −14
1959Gene Littler−12
1958Jack Burke Jr.−16
1957Gardner Dickinson−12
1956Arnold Palmer−10
1955Sam Snead−15
1954Tommy Bolt−13
1953Bob Toski−15
1952Ted Kroll−11

Multiple Winners

Seven different golfers (see below) have won the event more than once, with Billy Casper currently holding the record for most wins at four (1963, 1965, 1968, and 1973).

RankPlayerTitlesYears Won
1 Billy Casper41963, 1965, 1968, and 1973
2Bubba Watson32010, 2015 and 2018
T3Arnold Palmer21956 and 1960
T3Paul Azinger21987 and 1989
T3Peter Jacobsen22001 and 2002
T3Phil Mickelson21984 and 2003
T3Stewart Cink21997 and 2008

Winners by Country

The United States has dominated the tournament with 66 out of 73 champions coming from America, with only 6 coming from other countries.

Nick Price of Zimbabwe was the first non-American to win the tournament in 1993, with Russell Knox of the UK being the last non-American to win the event.

RankCountryNumber of Wins
T3South Africa1