Fortinet Championship Past Winners

The Fortinet Championship is a pro golf tournament on the PGA Tour, that is held at the Silverado Country Club in Napa, California.

The tournament has been known as the Fortinet Championship since 2021, having previously been named the Safeway Open (2016 – 2020), Open (2008 – 2015), and the Fry’s Electronics Open (2007).

This article will look at some of the past winners of the event from 2007 to 2023, like Max Homa (2022 and 2021), Brendan Steele (2016 and 2017), and Stewart Cink (2020).

A trophy next to the words Fortinet Championship Past Winners

Past Winners

The most recent winner of the Fortinet Championship was Sahith Theegala who won the 2023 tournament with a score of 21 under par, two strokes ahead of Kim Seong-hyeon in second place.

The Fortinet Championship (2021 – 2022)

YearWinnerWinning ScoreRunner Up
2023Sahith Theegala-21Kim Seong-hyeon
2022Max Homa-16Danny Willett
2021Max Homa-19Maverick McNealy

Safeway Open (2016 – 2020)

YearWinnerFinishing ScoreRunner(s) Up
2020Stewart Cink-21Harry Higgs
2019Cameron Champ-17Adam Hadwin
2018Kevin Tway-14Ryan Moore and Brandt Snedeker
2017Brendan Steele-15Tony Finau
2016Brendan Steele-18Patton Kizzire Open (2008 – 2015)

YearWinnerFinishing ScoreSecond Place
2015Emiliano Grillo-15Kevin Na
2014Bae Sang-moon-15Steven Bowditch
2013Jimmy Walker-17Vijay Singh
2012Jonas Blixt-16Jason Kokrak and Tim Petrovic
2011Bryce Molder-17Briny Baird
2010Rocco Mediate-15Alex Prugh and Bo Van Pelt
2009Troy Matteson-18Rickie Fowler and Jamie Lovemark
2008Cameron Beckman-18Kevin Sutherland

Fry’s Electronics Open (2007)

YearWinnerWinning ScoreSecond Place
2007Mike Weir-14Mark Hensby

Multiple Winners

#PlayerTitlesYears Won
1Brendan Steele22016 and 2017
2Max Homa22021 and 2022

Winners by Country

The United States has dominated the tournament with 13 out of 17 champions coming from America, with only four coming from other countries.

Mike Weir of Canada was the first non-American to win the tournament in 2007, with Emiliano Grillo of Argentina being the last non-American to win the event (2015).

RankCountryNumber of Wins
T2South Korea1